Advertisement

holy basil

topic posted Sun, June 4, 2006 - 4:25 PM by  Unsubscribed
Share/Save/Bookmark
hi! i recently discovered holy basil. i've been taking this herb since september and really enjoy it. does anyone else here take holy basil? what have your experiences been? thanks! breath
posted by:
Unsubscribed
Advertisement
  • cm
    cm
    offline 9

Re: holy basil

Sun, June 4, 2006 - 11:33 PM
    Hi,
    I am an ayurvedic practitioner from India. I have been using holy basil for many years in my practice. I mainly use this in combination with some other herbs to treat vata-kapha fever (flu). Tablet "tribhuvankirti" contains Holy basil extract and I have successfully used this many a times to treat vata-kapha type of fever (fever, cold, bad throat, chills). This has worked miraculously, even for very high fevers (up to 104 degrees). Holy basil is 'ruksha' (dry) and hence it reduces kapha. Holy basil is used in multiple other conditions like asthma, cough, some skin conditions, etc. In India, holy basil is indeed considered a holy plant, which is planted in front of every household.

When I was a 10-year-old, I was bitten by an insect (a bee-like fly). I remember my grandmother applied the soil near the root of holy basil plant and that cured it!

I remember my Guru us told us to refrain from too much (continuous) use of this medicine for vata predominant individuals though.
    • Unsu...

Mon, June 5, 2006 - 4:23 AM
      Why must a vata predominant stay away from to much holy basil?
  • Unsu...

Mon, June 5, 2006 - 10:24 AM
    I've using Holy Basil for some time and it seemed to help me spiritually as well as with the nervous system----but now I'm wondering should I be taking it continuously, because I am VATA!?
    • Unsu...

Mon, June 5, 2006 - 10:28 AM
      yes, i am vata too and take this herb continuously. like aqua, i have found this herb to help me spiritually..........i would be sad to have to give this up.........breath
      • Unsu...